Previous Issues




Chapbook Series


Contest judge Kaveh Akbar has selected Carlos Price-Sanchez’s Paper Waters as the 2018 winner and Brooke Larsen’s Origami Drama as runner-up. Quarterly West will also publish Anne Champion’s She Saints & Holy Profanities and A Month of Sundays by Mel Bosworth & Ryan Ridge. All four titles will debut at AWP 2019.


This is All the Orientation You’re Gonna Get by John Jodzio won the 2017 chapbook contest, judged by Garrard Conley. Brandon Thurman’s Strange Flesh was selected runner-up. Click here to purchase.

Novella Series

Quarterly West is thrilled to announce that A Summer’s Lynching: A Novella in Thirteen Loops by Juan Carlos Reyes, winner of the 2016 Quarterly West Novella Contest, is now available for purchase. Click here to buy the novella.

About the novella, judge Kate Bernheimer writes,


A Summer’s Lynching: A Novella in Thirteen Loops has the affect of the saddest symphonies that I have heard. Folkloric, rhythmic, and spare, its form is quite simply haunting. The procession begins with the title, and each dignified phrase carries us — hard and sad — to the end. A collective novella about us — and about you — A Summer’s Lynching is an important and very cool book.”


About Our 2016 Winner

Juan Carlos Reyes was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador. He is the product of a math degree, but only words hold his attention anymore. His stories, poems and essays have appeared in The Brooklyner, Arcadia, and Hawai’i Review, among others. He teaches creative writing at the University of Alabama and serves as interim director of Stetson University’s MFA of the Americas.

Previous Winners

The winner of the 2015 Quarterly West novella contest was Mark Baumer’s Holiday Meat. Read what judge Lily Hoang had to say about it here, where it is also available to download as a free PDF.

The winner of the 2014 Quarterly West novella contest was Nathan Poole‘s Pathkiller as the Holy Ghost. Read what judge Ben Percy had to say about it here.

Check out what Michael Martone has to say about the 2013 winning novella, Sandy Downs by Tim Wikrus.



The novella contest is on hiatus in 2017. Check back here for more updates in 2018.